How do I set up or change the admin password on my EE Smart Hub?

You’ll need the Hub Manager admin password to change your settings and to view advanced settings information. It’s on the ‘Pull out for useful info’ slide plate on the back of your Hub (and again on the label on the back of the Hub, in case you lose the slide plate).

How to change your admin password on your EE Smart Hub

If you don’t want to use the default admin password on the Hub, you can change it:

  1. Open a new web browser on a device connected to your Hub and type 192.168.1.254 (or http://eehub) in the address bar – this will open the Hub Manager.
  2. Go to Advanced Settings > System
  3. Enter your admin password. Unless you've previously changed it, it’s on the settings card on the back of your Hub. If you’ve changed it already, you can use password override to set up a new password without losing all your personal Hub settings and configuration.
  4. Enter your current password first, then enter your new password twice.
  5. You can also enter a password hint (e.g. My first pet's name) to remind you.
  6. Choose Save.
  7. You may be prompted that your chosen password isn’t as secure as it could be. Once you’ve chosen your password, press Accept.

How to reset your admin password on your EE Smart Hub if you've forgotten it

If you’ve forgotten your admin password you can use password override to set up a new one:

  1. Open a new web browser on a device connected to your Hub and type 192.168.1.254  in the address bar. This will open the Hub Manager.
  2. Press and hold the Wireless WPS button until the light on the front of your EE Smart Hub flashes blue – it’ll flash for two minutes, giving you time to enter the details.
  3. The default wireless key and admin password is on the slide-out plate on the back of your Hub.
  4. Choose Save. The power light will return to steady aqua.

How do I reset my EE Smart Hub to its factory settings?

Resetting the EE Smart Hub to factory settings takes the Hub right back to how it was when you first received it. It will overwrite any changes you might have made since.

A factory reset is not the same as 'power cycling' or restarting your Hub. We recommend restarting the Hub as it won't affect any changes you've made to its settings.

We'd only recommend a factory reset as a last resort. After a factory reset, you'll need to restore any changes you might have made to the Hub.

  1. Find the recessed Factory Reset pinhole button on the back of your Hub.
  2. Make sure your Hub broadband and power cable are still connected and the Hub power button is on.
  3. Using a paper clip or similar press the button and hold for 20 seconds. Your Hub lights will go green and your Hub will restart.
  4. Wait a few minutes for the Hub lights to settle. The central power light will go aqua when the Hub is ready to use.

After a factory reset, your wireless network name, wireless password and Hub Manager admin password will all revert back to the settings on the back of your Hub.

Was this article helpful?

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you, now you can press any tab to choose why this article is not helpful.

Your response was sent. Thank you.