Bright Box 2 Wireless Router - save configuration settings

If you've made changes to the settings on your Bright Box 2 (e.g. WiFi or firewall settings), you may like to make a backup. This is useful if you ever need to return your router to factory default settings. This guide shows you how to save settings and restore settings from a back up.

Save a copy of the settings

To save a copy of your settings from a computer connected to your Bright Box 2:

  1. Go to 192.168.1.1 (opens in a new tab or window)

    Enter 192.168.1.1 into browser address bar

  2. The router's LOGIN SCREEN will open

    Router's admin pages

  3. Enter the username and password for the admin pages

    - The username is admin (all lower case)
    - The password can be found on a sticker on the bottom of your router

    Bright Box 2 sticker

  4. Select LOGIN

    Enter the username and password for the router's admin pages

  5. The STATUS page will open

    status page

  6. Select ADVANCED from the menu and click ACCEPT

    Select ADVANCED and then choose ACCEPT

  7. Select Tools and then Configuration



  8. Click BACKUP
    Click Bacup

  9. Select to Save the file

    Select to Save the file.

  10. You can then Open folder to view the file from your computer's Downloads folder

    Open folder option displayed

  11. You now have a back up of your router settings

You may like to move the file to a more memorable location on your computer?
 

Restore router settings from your backup

To restore router settings from a back up:

  1. Go to 192.168.1.1

    Enter 192.168.1.1 into browser address bar

  2. The router's login screen will open

    Router's admin pages

  3. Enter your router's Username and Password

    - Username: admin
    - Password: found on the back of your router and your KEEP MEE card

    Bright Box 2 sticker

  4. Click LOGIN

    Enter the username and password for the router's admin pages

  5. The STATUS page will open

    status page

  6. Select ADVANCED from the menu and click ACCEPT

    Select ADVANCED and then choose ACCEPT

  7. Select Tools and then Configuration




  8. Click RESTORE
    Click RESTORE

  9. Click BROWSE



  10. Double-click to select the file backup.bin from the location you saved the file to, e.g. your Downloads folder

    backup.bin shown from 'Choose File to Upload' page

  11. Click APPLY

    Click APPLY

  12. Click OK to confirm that you want to restore your router's settings

    OK button highlighted to confirm you want to restore router settings

  13. Your settings will be restored

    Do not turn off your router, please wait until configuration has been restored.

  14. After 99 seconds you'll be redirected to the router login screen.

If using a wireless connection, it may take a minute for your computer to re-connect.

Was this article helpful?

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you, now you can press any tab to choose why this article is not helpful.

Your response was sent. Thank you.

Getting the most from EE

Services and offers we have for you