Bright Box router - set up port triggers

Some applications require multiple connections such as internet gaming, video conferencing and voice over IP telephones. These don't always work when Network Address Translation (NAT) is enabled. Setting up Port Triggering on your Bright Box router can help. To do this:

  1. From a computer connected to your Bright Box, go to 192.168.1.1 (opens in a new tab or window)



  2. The router's LOGIN SCREEN will open



  3. Enter the username and password for the admin pages
    • The username is admin (all lower case)
    • The password can be found on a sticker on your router



  4. Click LOGIN



  5. The STATUS page will open



  6. Select ADVANCED



  7. You'll be prompted to proceed with caution - select ACCEPT



  8. From the left hand menu, select NAT and then Port Triggers

 

Port Triggers - popular applications

You can pick from a few applications using the popular applications list. To do this:

  1. Scroll to the bottom of the page - you'll find the Popular applications menu



  2. Select your application from the menu, e.g. MSN GAMING ZONE
  3. Select the field that you want to paste the ports to, e.g. 1
  4. Click COPY TO



  5. Click SAVE SETTINGS


  6. Your Port Trigger will be saved


Add your own triggers

Alternatively, you can add your own port or range of ports. You'll find details of the ports to open:

Once you know which ports to use:

  1. Click to tick the Enable option in the first available field
  2. In the Trigger Port field, enter the outgoing port associated with the application
  3. In the Trigger Type field, select either TCP or UDP
  4. In the public ports field, enter the incoming port(s) that will be opened when the trigger port is activated
  5. You can enter a single public port, multiple ports separated by a comma (,) or a range of ports using a dash (-)
  6. In the public type, select either TCP or UDP



  7. Scroll to the bottom of the page and select SAVE SETTINGS



  8. Your Port Trigger will be saved

 

Delete a rule

To delete a rule, simply:

  1. Click to tick the Delete box next to the rule(s) you no longer require
  2. Click DELETE and then SAVE SETTINGS




  3. The rule will be deleted

Was this article helpful?

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you, now you can press any tab to choose why this article is not helpful.

Your response was sent. Thank you.

Getting the most from EE

Services and offers we have for you