Reset your iPad

Resetting your iPad Air will remove all your preferences and settings, but information such as your contacts and calendars, and media such as your songs and videos, aren't deleted.

Resetting your iPad

  1. Tap Settings
  2. Choose General
  3. Choose Reset
  4. Tap Reset All Settings

Factory Reset

This resets all settings to their defaults and removes all your information and media on your iPad by overwriting the data.

If you're sure you want to do this, here's how:

  1. Connect your iPad to your computer or a power adaptor
  2. Choose General
  3. Choose Reset
  4. Tap Erase All Content and Settings

You won't be able to use your iPad while data is being overwritten. This can take up to two hours or more, depending on the model and storage capacity of your iPad.

Last updated: 24/12/2018
Simon H posted this. Got a comment? Good or bad, we'd be pleased to hear from you.
Was this article helpful?
How can we improve this article?
    >
  • Please select a reason
  • The article didn't answer my question
  • The article is missing important information
  • I didn't understand the article
  • I found the information but it didn't resolve my issue
  • Please let us know how we can make it better
0/600
Great!

Thanks for your feedback

Thanks for your feedback

We'll use your feedback to keep improving our help articles