Reset your iPhone

Resetting your iPhone 5 will remove all your preferences and settings, but information such as your contacts and calendars, and media such as your songs and videos, aren't deleted.

Resetting your iPhone

1. Choose General
2. Choose Reset
3. Tap Reset All Settings

Erase all content and settings

This resets all settings to their defaults and removes all your information and media on your iPhone by overwriting the data.

If you are sure you want to do this, here's how:

1. Connect your iPhone to your computer or a power adapter
2. Choose General
3. Choose Reset
4. Tap Erase All Content and Settings

You won't be able to use your iPhone while data is being overwritten. This can take up to two hours or more, depending on the model and storage capacity of your iPhone.

See more helpful tips on how to do clever things on your Apple iPhone 5 >

Last updated: 13/9/2018
Was this article helpful?
How can we improve this article?
    >
  • Select a reason
  • The article didn't answer my question
  • The article is too long
  • The article is missing important information
  • The article doesn't make any sense
  • Other
0/600
Thank you!

Glad to hear it.

We Got It!

Thanks for your feedback!

Optimise the battery life
Find my iPhone lock