Save configuration settings

If you (or perhaps a friend) have made changes to the WiFi settings or firewall rules on your router, you may like to take a backup of the settings. This is useful in case you ever need to return your router to factory default settings and means you can then restore settings.

Save a copy of the settings on the router

To save a copy of your router's settings from a computer connected to your Bright Box router:

  1. From a computer connected to your Bright Box, go to 192.168.1.1 (opens in a new tab or window)



  2. The router's LOGIN SCREEN will open



  3. Enter the username and password for the admin pages
    - The username is admin (all lower case)
    - The password can be found on a sticker on your router



  4. Click LOGIN



  5. The STATUS page will open



  6. Select ADVANCED



  7. You'll be prompted to proceed with caution - select ACCEPT



  8. Select Tools and then Configuration



  9. Select BACKUP



  10. If required, select to Save the file to a memorable place
  11. The file will usually be saved to your computer's downloads folder



  12. You now have a backup of any configuration changes that you've made to your router

You may like to move the file from your downloads folder, to a more memorable location on your computer.

 

Restore router settings from a backup

  1. From a computer connected to your Bright Box, go to 192.168.1.1 (opens in a new tab or window)



  2. The router's LOGIN SCREEN will open



  3. Enter the username and password for the admin pages
  4. Click LOGIN



  5. The STATUS page will open



  6. Select ADVANCED



  7. You'll be prompted to proceed with caution - select ACCEPT



  8. Select Tools and then Configuration



  9. Select Restore



  10. Click Browse



  11. Double-click to select the file backup.bin from the location you saved the file to, e.g. your Downloads folder



  12. Click Apply



  13. Click OK to confirm that you want to restore your router's settings



  14. The backup file will install on your router



  15. After 99 seconds you'll be redirected to the router login screen. Your previous router settings will be restored

Tip: If the router login pages don't load, try refreshing your browser.

Last updated: 13/2/2019
Was this article helpful?
How can we improve this article?
    >
  • Please select a reason
  • The article didn't answer my question
  • The article is too long
  • The article is missing important information
  • The article doesn't make any sense
  • Other Reason
0/600
Great!

Thanks for your feedback

Thanks for your feedback

We'll use your feedback to keep improving our help articles

Add a computer to the DMZ