Save configuration settings

If you've made changes to the settings on your Bright Box 2 (e.g. WiFi or firewall settings), you may like to make a backup. This is useful if you ever need to return your router to factory default settings. This guide shows you how to save settings and restore settings from a back up.

Save a copy of the settings

To save a copy of your settings from a computer connected to your Bright Box 2:

  1. Go to 192.168.1.1 (opens in a new tab or window)



  2. The router's LOGIN SCREEN will open



  3. Enter the username and password for the admin pages
    - The username is admin (all lower case)
    - The password can be found on a sticker on the bottom of your router



  4. Select LOGIN



  5. The STATUS page will open



  6. Select ADVANCED from the menu and click ACCEPT



  7. Select Tools and then Configuration



  8. Click BACKUP



  9. Select to Save the file



  10. You can then Open folder to view the file from your computer's Downloads folder



  11. You now have a back up of your router settings

You may like to move the file to a more memorable location on your computer?
 

Restore router settings from your backup

To restore router settings from a back up:

  1. Go to 192.168.1.1



  2. The router's LOGIN SCREEN will open



  3. Enter your router's Username and Password
    Username: admin
    Password: found on the back of your router and your KEEP MEE card



  4. Click LOGIN



  5. The STATUS page will open



  6. Select ADVANCED from the menu and click ACCEPT



  7. Select Tools and then Configuration



  8. Click RESTORE 



  9. Click BROWSE



  10. Double-click to select the file backup.bin from the location you saved the file to, e.g. your Downloads folder



  11. Click APPLY



  12. Click OK to confirm that you want to restore your router's settings



  13. Your settings will be restored



  14. After 99 seconds you'll be redirected to the router login screen.

If using a wireless connection, it may take a minute for your computer to re-connect.

Last updated: 8/2/2019
Was this article helpful?
How can we improve this article?
    >
  • Please select a reason
  • The article didn't answer my question
  • The article is too long
  • The article is missing important information
  • The article doesn't make any sense
  • Other Reason
0/600
Great!

Thanks for your feedback

Thanks for your feedback

We'll use your feedback to keep improving our help articles

Change settings to ADSL using the Migration Wizard