The EE Rising Star 2022 Winner

The EE Rising Star Award is the only award presented at the EE British Academy Film Awards that is determined by a public vote. Now in its seventeenth year, the accolade is committed to supporting the extraordinary skills of emerging acting talent who have captured the imagination of the British public and the film industry over the past year.

EE is delighted to announce Lashana Lynch as the winner of the EE Rising Star Award.

LASHANA LYNCH is quickly establishing herself as an internationally renowned actor, showcasing a range of disciplines across film, television and stage. In 2021, she made history as the first woman and the first woman of colour to carry on the legacy of 007 in her standout role as “Nomi” in Cary Joji Fukunaga’s No Time To Die, alongside Daniel Craig and Rami Malek. She is currently filming historical epic The Woman King in South Africa and will also be seen in the film adaptation of Matthew Warchus’ musical, Matilda, opposite Alisha Weir and Emma Thompson in the role of ‘Miss Honey’. Last year, Lashana starred in Debbie Tucker Green’s ear for eye, the feature film adaptation of Green’s well received play of the same name, which debuted at the Royal Court in 2018 where Lashana also took the lead role.  She also notably starred in Captain Marvel alongside Brie Larson, and Shonda Rhimes’ period drama series, Still Star-Crossed.

And the winner is Lashana Lynch

Pete Jeavons, Marketing Communications Director at BT & EE: “Congratulations to Lashana Lynch, a truly deserving winner. 2022 marks the 17th year of the EE Rising Star Award and the 25th year of our partnership with BAFTA, a real milestone for us as we continue to shine a spotlight on emerging talent in the film industry. After a challenging two years for the film industry, we are pleased to be able to recognise and celebrate the talented actors who have captivated us with their exceptional performances, in person tonight at the Royal Albert Hall.”

Previous winners of the EE Rising Star Award

Bukky Bakray


Micheal Ward


Daniel Kaluuya


Tom Holland


More about the EE BAFTAs

For more information on BAFTA and all the awards, visit BAFTA