The EE Rising
Star Award Winner

EE is delighted to announce Bukky Bakray as the winner of the EE Rising Star Award for 2021.

The EE Rising Star Award is the only publicly voted award presented at the EE British Academy Film Awards. Now in its sixteenth year, the accolade has continued to shine a spotlight on the phenomenal skills of up-and-coming acting talent who have captured the imagination of the public and the film industry over the past year.

On her win, Bukky Bakray said: “Thank you so much bafta and EE, I appreciate this so much. The Highlight of this awards journey has been recognition in a category with my fellow nominees, I can’t describe how humbling and what a blessing it is to be put on the same boat as those talented human beings. I’ve got a special appreciation for the rocks family as well. Thank you for seeing something in me that I never saw in myself. Thank you EE for continuing to spotlight now and emerging talent."

Winners of the EE Rising Star Award

Micheal Ward


Letitia Wright


Daniel Kaluuya


Tom Holland


2016, John Boyega; 2015, Jack O'Connell; 2014, Will Poulter; 2013, Juno Temple; 2012, Adam Deacon; 2011, Tom Hardy; 2010, Kristen Stewart; 2009, Noel Clarke; 2008, Shia LeBeouf; 2007, Eva Green; 2006, James McAvoy.

More about the EE BAFTAs

For more information on BAFTA and all the awards, visit