What EU roaming changes mean for EE customers

We’ve got great news – you can take your UK minutes, texts and data with you to use anywhere in the EU. The changes apply to all EE customers, so whether you’re on pay monthly or pay as you go, or you’re a business customer, you can use your phone abroad just the same as you do at home.

EU roaming on EE pay monthly

All our 4GEE Essential plans, 4GEE plans and 4GEE Max plans will let you take your allowances with you to the EU. If you’re a new or upgrading EE customer, you’ll be able to do this as soon as your new plan starts. For existing EE customers, the change comes into effect on 15th June 2017.

If you need to take your UK allowances even further, our 4GEE Max plans let you take your minutes, texts and data to over 50 destinations around the world, including the EU, Australia, Canada, Mexico, New Zealand and USA.

Choose a 4GEE Max plan >

Going abroad soon?

As an EE pay monthly customer, you should already have EU roaming set up. To double check, simply text ROAMING to 150 and we’ll text you to either confirm you’re set up or tell you how to activate roaming on your device.

It can take up to 24 hours for roaming to be activated on your device, so remember to check before going away.

Add-ons and plan allowances

If you’ve been using a Euro Pass or a Travel Data Pass, we’ll remove this from your account and you’ll no longer be charged. If you use up your UK data allowance while you’re abroad, you can simply buy a data add-on as you would at home.

The same goes for your minutes and texts – you’ll be charged the same as you would in the UK for any calls or texts made outside of your plan.

Read more about our 4GEE plans >

What EU countries are included?

You’ll be able to use your UK allowances in these countries: Austria, Azores, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Canary Islands, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guyana, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guadeloupe, Guernsey, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Jersey, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Madeira, Malta, Martinique, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Reunion Islands, Romania, Saint Martin, Saint Barthelemy, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Vatican City (Italy).

Please note that Turkey (you may connect to a Turkish network in Northern Cyprus) and Andorra are outside the EU/EEA and not included in our European Roaming Zone.