How do I deactivate Find My iPhone before returning my device?

In this article

You must deactivate Find My iPhone on your iOS device before returning your device.

Why do I need to deactivate Find My iPhone?

Why do I need to deactivate Find My iPhone?

Before returning your iOS device, be that an iPhone, iPad or Apple Watch, you must deactivate Find My iPhone and erase your content and settings.

When you erase your content, Find My iPhone and Activation Lock are also turned off. This must be done to transfer the ownership of your device back to EE.

Remember:

If Find My iPhone is not removed this can slow down the return or refund process and could mean you get charged for the device.

How do I deactivate Find My iPhone?

How do I deactivate Find My iPhone?

On your iPhone or iPad:
  1. 1

    go to Settings

  2. 2

    tap General

  3. 3

    tap Reset

  4. 4

    tap Erase All Content and Settings

On your Apple Watch:
  1. 1

    open the Apple Watch app on your iPhone

  2. 2

    tap My Watch

  3. 3

    tap your Apple Watch at the top of the screen

  4. 4

    tap Unpair Apple Watch

If your device is faulty, or you have returned it to EE, you can turn off Find My Phone via your computer:
  1. 1

    visit https://www.icloud.com/find

  2. 2

    sign in with your Apple ID

  3. 3

    select your device and then Erase Phone

If you've already returned your device to EE

If you've already returned your device to EE

If you've already returned your device to EE, you can remove Find My iPhone remotely from your computer:

  1. 1

    visit https://www.icloud.com/#find

  2. 2

    sign in with your Apple ID

  3. 3

    select All Devices and find the device you wish to remove (this will show as Offline)

  4. 4

    select the device and then Remove From Account

Thanks for your feedback

Need more help?

 
Use My EE
Ask the community
Ask the community
Ask questions and share tips with other people 24 hours a day
Other ways to speak with us