Watch our video explaining how to gift your data – the easy way to move spare data around all your family’s devices with you in the driving seat:
Sorry! No results found but hit enter for the most relevant articles.
Get help gifting your spare data and learn to control how your devices are used.
Data gifting lets you move data around your devices when someone’s low. Just choose the person who needs data, choose who’s got spare data to gift and that’s it. They’re back online, without you spending an extra penny.
Once it’s done, we’ll text the person whose data has been moved and the person receiving the data. Just keep in mind, you need at least 500 MB on your account to make gift data to another plan in your account.
Only the person who runs the account (usually who pays the bill) can send a data gift.
Data that has been gifted works in the same way as your monthly data allowance.
So if your plan lets you use data abroad, you can use any data you’ve gifted abroad.
If your plan only lets you use data in the UK, any data you’ve gifted can only be used in the UK.
To find out if someone on your account can use data abroad, go to the menu, and hit 'Plans & Add-ons'.
Is there enough data on your account?
You need at least 500MB on your account to gift your data. If everyone’s out of data, get a data add-on in My EE (online or in the app).
Are you trying to gift data to someone on a shared plan?
If someone on your account is on your shared plan, you can’t gift data to them. But you can gift data to yourself, that they can use.
Data you’ve gifted lasts until your allowances refresh on your bill date. Everyone on your account will have their allowances refreshed on the same date.
Straight away! As soon you’ve gifted your data, it’s ready to use.
Once it’s done, we’ll send a text to the person receiving the data – and the person whose data’s been moved.
If you have multiple EE lines they must be on the same account to gift data. If they currently aren’t, speak to us on 150 and someone in our customer care team can help.
Depending on the number of lines on your account there is a fair usage policy.
As long as you run the account, you can control how your devices are used. So if you have kids, you can stop them:
It's easy to add or change device controls:
It can take up to 24 hours, but shouldn’t be that long.
While the controls are updating, you’ll see a 'pending' message. Once it’s updated, the switch will turn on/off.
Keep in mind, if you leave the app after changing a control the 'pending' message won’t be there when you return. (But the control will still change).
Has it been over 24 hours?
It can take a while for controls to change, but shouldn’t be longer than a day.
Does the control say 'pending'?
This means it’s busy updating. You’ll know it’s done when the switch is turned on/off.
Did you close the app after changing the control?
The 'pending' message won’t be there when you return, so it might seem as if nothing’s happening. But the control will still change within 24 hours.
If you turn off ‘use phone abroad’, the person using that device will be unable to make calls, send texts or use data outside the UK.