Understanding your bill after an upgrade

     
    >
  • Go to section

Why is my bill higher than usual after upgrading?

Why is my bill higher than usual after upgrading?

When you upgrade, your first bill may be higher than expected. This is usually caused by a one-off charge incurred during the upgrade process.

Here are some common reasons for one-off charges on your bill.

Part Charges

These will show on your bill if you’ve made a change to your account partway through your billing month. This means you’ll be charged for your new plan up to your refresh date (which will stay the same unless you’ve asked for it to be changed). Providing there are no further changes, your charging period will be back to normal next month.

Remaining Contract Charge

This charge occurs if you upgraded while still within your minimum contract term and with more than 30 days until it ends. The amount is calculated from the date you contacted us to cancel your contract until the end of your minimum term.

Other reasons for a part charge on your bill:
  1.  

    you bought an add-on halfway through the month

  2.  

    you changed your phone plan or phone number

  3.  

    you changed your bill payment date

  4.  

    you added another line to your account (like another phone, tablet, SIM or dongle)

One off charges (or credits) on your bill:
  1.  

    a refund of the old plan or your old number up to your bill date

  2.  

    a charge for your new plan, number or line, up to your bill date

  3.  

    a charge for your new price plan, number or line, equal to one month in advance

  4.  

    a delivery charge which is the amount to pay towards the delivery of your device

  5.  

    an equipment charge shown as the device e.g. "PAYM iPhone 6 16gb gold" with any amount you owe

  6.  

    a device unlock charge if you had to get your device unlocked

  7.  

    if you’re owed an amount towards your device, this shows an equipment credit

  8.  

    out-of-bundle charges which occur when calling or texting premium numbers or sending an MMS image

Other things you should know:
  1.  

    on your bill device charges are always shown without VAT

  2.  

    the amount you paid when you ordered your device will show on your bill as a payment received

  3.  

    your bill is your receipt, and the proof of purchase for your device, so keep it safe

These charges will appear as extra charges in My EE.

You can also check your bill balance and allowances at any time.

  1.  

    log in to My EE or the My EE app

  2.  

    text AL to 150

 
Give us a call
Give us a call
Call now
150
Free to pay monthly
25p per call on pay as you go
Open
Closed
Mon to Fri
Sat to Sun
Ask the Community
Ask the Community
Ask questions and share tips with other people 24 hours a day
Find a store
Find a store
Something went wrong. Please try again later We cannot identify your location. Please enter your postcode below
Finding you
Open Mon to Sat
Open Sun
Need more help
Last updated: 12/9/2018
Simon A posted this article. Got a comment? Good or bad, we'd be pleased to hear from you.
Was this article helpful?
How can we improve this article?
    >
  • Select a reason
  • The article didn't answer my question
  • The article is too long
  • The article is missing important information
  • The article doesn't make any sense
  • Other
0/600
Thank you.

Glad to hear it.

Thank you.

Glad to hear it.

Your home broadband bill explained